7 Ways Marrying a Farmer Will Make You a Better Person

So many joys of being a farmer’s wife. So many life lessons too. I wouldn’t trade this wonderful life for the world, and here some ways I am better because of marrying my farmer:

Patience. There have been times when my dairy man calls and says to expect him home for breakfast at 9am.  Shortly after, around 9:30, I will get another phone call (in a sweet voice) saying, “Umm, remember how I said 9? Yeah, better make that 10:30.” I replied, “What were you doing?” He replied with the picture below and said:

20140919_095623

“Sitting in the rafters watching cow behavior!”

And then I roll my eyes, crack a smile and patiently wait for him to come home.

Slow to Anger. Snowballing off of the previous, the farmer’s wife must learn not to be angry about when her farmer finally comes home, sometimes late. Farmers are home at odd hours of the day, so when they are home, cherish the moment! Yes, it is frustrating, but don’t ruin the short time that he is home by being angry.

*Also, knowing how to keep meals warm is must.

*And packing up the meal and taking it out to the field when there is not time for my farmer to come home and eat.

My specialty: Meals to the field.

My specialty: Meals to the field.

Humility. Being a farmer’s wife is hardly ever glamorous.  Most of my days are spent washing his manure-stained chore clothes and reminding him to wash his manure-coated arms when he arrives at home. There are many activities that my husband has asked me to do or requested my help with that have greatly humbled me.  Whenever he asks me kindly to help him with something, I always end up holding something slippery, slimy or stinky.  I remember the first time my dairy man asked me to take a calf’s  temperature. I looked at him perplexed.  I asked, “How am I supposed to hold the thermometer under its tongue?” He replied, “You don’t take temperatures in the mouth, dear.”

Hard Work. Being a farmer’s daughter is nothing compared to being a farmer’s wife. There are many more responsibilities.  Cleaning, cooking, gardening, canning, laundry, errand running, feeding calves and misc chores to name a few. Add trying to finish a bachelor’s degree into the mix and I’m already needing a nap.

Discipline. Last year I was a college student.  This meant rolling out of bed at 9:45 and rushing to my 10 am class.  There were also many late nights and still plenty of sleep.  I was able to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. That was a big change for me as calves need to be fed twice a day at the same time, every day. Now, whenever I tell someone I overslept, it means I woke up at 6 instead of 5.

Power Tools. When my farmer says that he needs a tool in the barn, I am still learning how to interpret what he means. When he says “Go get me that one tool that I use for this, it’s the shiny, round, sharp, circular thingy next to the balling gun and tag remover but not the other shiny round tool, get the one I used last time”; I am starting to know what this means. I’m still learning a lot about all of these specific tools and their functions but I am leaps and bounds ahead of where I was as a single lady.  Also, hardware stores.  I’m getting very familiar with our town’s hardware store and know where to find a few things!

Geography: There are many times where my husband needs me to pick him up or needs a delivery in a certain field left of the green sign, north of the intersection, around the curve, cross the culvert, past the waterway, west of the hay field and up the hill.  Getting lost is a frequent occurence.

I still have much to learn and much to be humbled by and I’m excited for every new experience!

 

-J

Leave a Reply

