5 Things Marriage Has Taught Me

Today is Dan and I’s 5 month anniversary.  I know 5 months isn’t long, but it seems like I have learned more in these past 5 months than the last 5 years. First off, my husband is amazing and I am incredibly lucky to have him. I thank God every day for this man.

Iowa Wedding Photographer and Videographer

My husband is so hardworking. It’s typical for him to work 14 hour days and I never hear a complaint. This is a conversation we had yesterday:

Me: “Dan, you just worked twleve hours straight.”

Dan: “And I could work twelve more.”

Jeepers.

What a blessing to be married to a man who knows how to work! And he’s 23. What man who is this age knows how to work that hard? Not only is he incredibly hard working (and is so good at what he does) he loves me like Jesus does. With that being said, here are the top 5 things that marriage has taught me.

1. It’s not about me. It’s not even about my husband.  It’s about God. The purpose of marriage is to glorify God. When I serve my husband, I am serving the Lord.  Ephesians 5:31-32 “Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh. This mystery is profound, and I am saying that it refers to Christ and the church.” Marriage is a reflection of God’s love.

2. I am the most selfish person I know. When I was single, I was selfish and unaware.  This was suddenly brought to light when I had to start taking care of my husband.  Doing his laundry. Making his meals. Running his errands. Sometimes I find myself getting really sassy when I feel like all I do is his stuff.  But God is glorified when I serve my husband.  I usually need to check my own heart when I get sassy about this because I love my husband and it truly is a blessing to be able to get to do all of this for him. 🙂

3. Forgiveness.  I’m pretty sure Dan has had to forgive me way more times than I have had to forgive him. Ha! Here is my main point: Don’t judge your spouse because they sin differently than you.  Love them. Forgive them. Encourage them.

4. Servitude. I have found that I am the happiest when I put my needs aside and decide to help my husband.  When I have piles of homework to do, dirty laundry and dirty dishes and Dan needs my help with something on the farm, I should help him. Real servitude is not expecting anything in return.

5. I need help. I can’t be a good wife on my own.  Galations 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Everyday I ask God to help me to posses these qualities.

Proverbs 31:10-12 “An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trust in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.”

Now that is the kind of wife I want to be.

Iowa Wedding Photographer and Videographer

-J

3 thoughts on “5 Things Marriage Has Taught Me

  1. Great stuff. I really appreciate your introspection and honesty. I particularly appreciate #5. We cannot do it without God’s help. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

